Long time no talk (UPDATE)!

Sorry for the lack of updates for the past couple of weeks. Life in Arusha became more and more routine, I didn’t feel the need to write about every single thing. Also, posting these blog posts was using up a lot of data. But these blog posts aren’t for me, they’re for my friends and family back home who want to know what I’m up to. So I’m going to make a compromise, to post more often but without pictures. I will try to make a video about my Tanzania trip at the end, so you can see all my best photos and memories.

Right now I’m in Zanzibar and here’s how that happened:

Before I left for Tanzania, I hung out with a friend whom I haven’t seen in two years. She told me her boyfriend went to Tanzania and loved it. He also went to Zanzibar and said it was very beautiful. It was my first time hearing about Zanzibar, I didn’t do ANY research about Tanzania before going. I didn’t want to “travel”, I didn’t have the money for it. I just wanted to volunteer and learn about the culture. But after hearing about the beautiful island of Zanzibar from my friend, I decided that I had to go. Initially, I wanted to spend a month there, so I went on workaway that night and found a host in Zanzibar. I sent them a message and waited patiently for their reply.

Days passed and nothing. So while in Arusha I started looking for other places in Zanzibar, maybe even Dar es Salaam. I wasn’t very happy in Arusha (so much to tell you, but later). I was eager to find a new host. I messaged a few people but only one from Dar es Salaam replied. I had to pay money for this place as well, but not as much. I paid $70 USD in Arusha a week and there I only had to pay $50 USD. Well luckily for me, the first Zanzibar host replied after two weeks! She was away and could not respond sooner. She told me that the accomodation and food in Zanzibar is free. I could not have been happier.

During this time, Ana told me that she wanted to climb Mt. Kilimanjaro. For those of you who are unaware, Kilimanjaro is the highest point in Africa. I had the intention of going, but no real conviction. When Ana said the reason she came to Tanzania was to climb Kilimanjaro, I wanted to join her on this adventure. She said she was going to go on the sixth week of our volunteering stay since she had plans to go to Zimbabwe afterwards. We found a local guide who lived a 5 minute walk away from our house. The trip to Kilimanjaro was perfect, I will have a post later on all about it!

That was the new plan, five weeks in Arusha, one week on Kilimanjaro, and the rest of my six weeks here in Zanzibar. It could not have turned out more perfect. I’m in Zanzibar now and enjoying every moment.

Leave a Reply

